I bought a new to me sewing machine again….

A Vera Bradley Bag

Image via Wikipedia

But here is why.  I broke my first needle yesterday as I was finishing the sewing of a bag I was making.  I was so proud of this bag….

Someone had given me a gift card to JoAnn‘s fabric, so I decided I wanted to try to make a new bag for me and my books for college as my Vera Bradley bag was about to wear out.  I found some neat quilted material that would be perfect and bought some other things.  Took it home and after 6 hours total of experimenting and playing, I had my new bag just about finished.  My Husband was really impressed as I did not use a pattern and more or less went off the Ver Bradley bag just by looking at it.  I showed him the last parts of the bag…. which was to do an extra double stitch to keep the tabs from the handles down and right about the time I got one side done, the needle broke.  I was pretty upset as I can not find the tools that supposedly went with the machine. 

Well, we went to the AK State Fair and I saw something awesome when walking around the quilters gild area.  A woman had a red Singer Featherweight sewing machine… circa 1954.  I fell in love with it.  So I looked online and *GASP* 500 dollars.  Well, I know I am going to be spending some money and I know that these featherweight are worth the money as they are little power machines.  So I decided to go to eBay, the largest garage sale in the world.  And I found a 1953 black Featherweight for 200.  I will have it serviced with my other treadle singer and my Husbands heavy-duty sewing machine.  Yes, he knows how to sew too.. but he sews manly stuff….. like boat aprons, and boat or ATV seats.  He is really good too.

So, did anyone else go to the 75th Alaska State Fair yet?

1 Comment

Filed under Sewing

One response to “I bought a new to me sewing machine again….

  1. Peggy

    Can you e-mail me at peggy.crazyquilter@gmail.com so that I can get your snail mail address for posting of silk prints you won. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Peggy

Leave a Reply

